Sonia Altizer Research interests:

Animal behavior and pathogen transmission, anthropogenic change and wildlife-pathogen interactions, consequences of infectious diseases for animal conservation, host-pathogen coevolution, and macroecology of infectious diseases

Email:saltizer@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-9251
Website
Budak Arpinar Research interests:

semantic web, big data analytics, crowdsourcing & collective intelligence, information fusion, bio-medical informatics, web services & workflows

Email:budak@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-8249
Website
Justin Bahl Research interests:

Ecology Evolution and Epidemiology of infectious RNA viruses in animals and humans

Email:justin.bahl@uga.edu
Website
Ford Ballantyne Research interests:

How interactions between organisms and their environments generate ecosystem-level patterns and dynamics. How trait evolution influence interspecific interactions and plasticity in variable environments. Reciprocal interactions between microbial metabolism and environmental conditions.

Email:fb4@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2437
Website
Steven Bellan Research interests:

Research interests: ecology and epidemiology of infectious diseases, transmission dynamics, epidemiological study design and analysis, HIV, ebola, rabies, and anthrax

Email:steve.bellan@uga.edu
Website
James “Jeb” Byers Research interests:

Research interests: marine population and community ecology, conservation ecology, invasion biology, ecosystem engineers, and physical-biological coupling

Email:jebyers@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-0012
Website
Todd Callaway Research interests:

Microbial ecology of the gastrointestinal tract of food animals. How probiotics work within the gut. Development of alternative strategies to antibiotics to improve food safety and human health.

Email:Todd.Callaway@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-0962
Website
John Drake Research interests:

epidemiological dynamics, vector-borne diseases, early warning systems for infectious disease emergence, data science, disease risk mapping

Email:jdrake@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-5539
Website
Vanessa Ezenwa Research interests:

Host-parasite interactions, disease ecology, ecological immunology, and behavioral ecology

Email:vezenwa@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2288
Website
Travis Glenn Research interests:

Environmental genomics, development and application of next-gen sequencing methods to infectious diseases, vectors, and hosts

Email:travisg@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-0662
Website
John Gittleman Research interests:

Macroecology and global patterns of disease in relation to evolution, conservation and anthropogenic change

Email:jlg@uga.edu
Phone:706-224-4021
Website
Nicole Gottdenker Research interests:

impacts of anthropogenic change on ecology and evolution of infectious diseases in wildlife, domestic animals, and humans, wildlife disease ecology and pathology, Ecology of vector-borne zoonotic diseases, and theoretical ecology

Email:gottdenk@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-8942
Website
Juan Gutierrez Research interests:

Multi-omic integration, infectious disease, host-pathogen interaction, diffusion as a paradigm to study organism dispersal.

Email:jgutierr@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2609
Website
Richard Hall Research interests:

Disease ecology, theoretical ecology, population dynamics, anthropogenic change and wildlife disease, and migratory host-pathogen dynamics

Email:rjhall@uga.edu
Phone:706-395-5350
Website
Andreas Handel Research interests:

Modeling and analysis of infectious diseases on the individual and population level, with a focus on influenza, tuberculosis and norovirus.

Email:ahandel@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5006
Website
Eric Harvill Research interests:

Microbiology, Bacteriology, Infectious Disease, Immunology, Bacterial Genomics

Email:harvill@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-1434
Website
Sonia Hernandez Research interests:

I am interested in all aspects of health and disease of wildlife, and particularly anthropogenic causes

Email:shernz@uga.edu
Phone:706-296-3909
Website
Ricardo Holdo Research interests:

structure and composition of tree communities in savannas and grasslands

Email:rholdo@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-0075
Website
Ray Kaplan Research interests:

Emergence and spread of drug resistance in helminth parasites

Email:rkaplan@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5670
Website
Duncan Krause Research interests:

the cell biology and pathogenesis of Mycoplasma pneumoniae, which causes bronchitis and atypical or “walking” pneumonia. We are also developing a nanotechnology-based biosensing platform for improved mycoplasma detection in clinical samples.

Email:dkrause@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2671
Website
Stacey Lance Research interests:

Conservation genetics, evolution of adaptation to anthropogenic stressors, ecotoxicology, disease ecology, behavioral ecology

Email:lance@srel.uga.edu
Phone:803-725-0988
Website
Nicole Lazar Research interests:

Data analysis and methods development

Email:nlazar@stat.uga.edu
Phone:706-542-0632
Website
Erin Lipp Research interests:

Microbial ecology, marine ecology, infectious disease, water quality

Email:elipp@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-8138
Website
Marguerite Madden Research interests:

GIScience, landscape ecology and human-environment interaction

Email:mmadden@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2379
Website
Andrew Moorhead Research interests:

The role of host-specific cues in development of filarial worms, specifically Dirofilaria immitis and Brugia malayi

Email:amoorhed@uga.edu
Website
Courtney Murdock Research interests:

One of the main drivers of vector-borne disease transmission is the ecology of the insect vector. Changes in climate and land use alter ecological relationships vectors have with their hosts and parasites, resulting in shifts in transmission. Our research applies ecological and evolutionary theory to better understand 1) the host-parasite interaction, 2) key environmental drivers of transmission, and 3) how environmental change will affect vector-borne disease transmission.

Email:cmurdock@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-3473
Website
Kristen Navara Research interests:

Sex ratio manipulation and ovarian follicular dynamics in female birds, Mechanistic bases of yolk androgen deposition, links between maternal immunity and the manipulation of offspring phenotype

Email:knavara@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-1369
Website
Andrew Park Research interests:

Population and community ecology of host-parasite systems, multi-host multi-parasite systems, the dilution effect hypothesis, theoretical ecology, evolutionary ecology, mathematical and computational ecology, herd immunity, drug resistance, antigenic evolution, and parasites in food webs

Email:awpark@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5373
Website
Benjamin Parrot Research interests:

Utilizing wildlife models along with human studies to discover environmental and ecological influences on sex determination, sexual development, reproductive health, and aging. My lab and I are particularly interested in how contaminants that interfere with the endocrine system act during critical developmental windows to affect later health trajectories.

Email:benparrott@srel.uga.edu
Website
David Peterson Research interests:

Characterization of adhesion proteins which mediate host-parasite interactions in Plasmodium falciparum

Email:dspete@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5242
Website
Fred Quinn Research interests:

Tuberculosis pathogenesis, vaccine development and disease transmission models

Email:fquinn@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5790
Website
Shannon Quinn Research interests:

Computer vision, spectral graph analytics, biomedical imaging, and distributed computing

Email:spq@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-4661
Website
Pejman Rohani Research interests:

Ecology and evolution of infectious diseases, transmission dynamics, mathematical and computational models, pertussis, dengue, polio, measles, ebola, avian influenza viruses

Email:rohani@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-8838
Website
Kaori Sakamoto Research interests:

Immunomodulatory effects of mycobacterial cell wall lipids, pathogenesis of granulomatous diseases, intramacrophagic bacterial survival, and animal models of granulomatous diseases

Email:kaoris@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5844
Website
Liliana Salvador Research interests:

Computational ecology; ecology and evolution of infectious diseases; evolutionary dynamics; animal movement

Email:salvador@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-3473
Website
Takao Sasaki Research interests: Email:takao.sasaki@uga.edu
Website
Juliet Sekandi Research interests:

Infectious diseases, global health, mobile health

Email:jsekandi@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-5257
Website
Michael Strand Research interests:

Insect-microbial interactions, vector biology, and parasitoid-host interactions

Email:mrstrand@uga.edu
Phone:706-583-8237
Website
M. Stephen Trent Research interests:

Bacterial pathogenesis, vaccine development, polymicrobial interactions

Email:strent@uga.edu
Website
John Wares Research interests:

I study gene flow and molecular evolution in natural populations with a particular interest in examining the effects of asymmetric dispersal. In recent years these approaches have been used to explore the association of obligate parasitic larvae with host fishes, microbial diversity on corals associated with bleaching and white pox disease, and most recently our group is focused on “sea star wasting disease”, a pandemic that began in 2013 and still has an unclear etiology. This work involves population surveys, population genetics, genomics, and lab experiments.

Email:jpwares@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-7720
Website
Christopher Whalen Research interests:

Tuberculosis, HIV, and network analysis

Email:ccwhalen@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-0468
Website
Michael Yabsley Research interests:

Wildlife parasites and diseases, zoonotic pathogens

Email:myabsley@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-1741
Website
Adrian Wolstenholme Research interests:

The molecular and genetic basis of anthelmintic resistance’ and ‘interactions between anthelmintic drugs and the host immune system

Email:adrianw@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2404
Website
Ming Zhang Research interests:

molecular epidemiology of infectious diseases – in particular, HIV/AIDS epidemiological network and molecular evolution, disease transmission patterns, the impact of human immune responses on viral diversity, and viral modeling during disease transmission and progression

Email:mzhang01@uga.edu
Phone:706-542-2194
Website
Close Menu